Honorary Life Membership


  • To recognize those who have made outstanding or significant contributions to the teaching of social studies in Saskatchewan.
  • To credit those who have provided for responsible and influential developments in programs and curriculum.
  • To recognize those who have promoted the aims and objectives of SSS and have worked towards making the Executive Committee viable, practical, and effective.
  • To encourage support and interest in SSS.

Selection Criteria

The candidate must be or must have been actively involved in social studies in Saskatchewan. The candidate must be a teacher or a professional equivalent or a superannuated teacher, specializing in social studies.

Selection of the recipient will be based upon the following criteria:

  • Past Member of Social Studies Saskatchewan.
  • Past Member of the SSS Executive.
  • Past Chair of the SSS Conference.
  • Presenter at the conference or a professional workshop.
  • Contributor of articles to newsletters, journals, and publication (Perspectives, etc.).
  • The candidate has shown leadership and initiative throughout his or her teaching or professional career.
  • The candidate taught for a minimum of five years in Saskatchewan.

The selection of the recipient(s) shall be by the SSS Executive Committee. The award will be a suitable plaque for immediate presentation and a Honorary Life Membership in SSS upon the recipient’s superannuating. Presentation of the award will be made at the Annual Conference.

Nomination deadline is March 15.

Honorary Life Members

Karl BaumgardnerVictor CulhamThomas Harder
Morley HarrisonKenneth HaugenBonace Korchinski
Steven LuciukKenneth MerretJohn Newton
Gordon RawlakeBrenard RiplingerJohn Schaller
James Mark TaylorMartin WeichelAndrew Whiteman
Brent TolesLarry Mikulcik